On Display

My local gym has been refurbished. It’s a while since I’ve been. Hitherto the lair of, rather intimidating, super-fit women and the type of men who drive convertibles and like to pose in front of mirrors or catch their reflections in passing windows. I don’t have any pre-conceived notions you understand, but I did like going to that ladies-only gym with no windows opposite a certain station in Ryde. That one suited my purposes just fine.
Clutching my piece of paper, a passport to a new me, I was shown the ropes by a very helpful man who showed me how technology would record my every panting exertion and monitor my beating heart. Not only would it tell me how few calories I expended for such energetic endeavours, it would start me off next time at the right pace and difficulty and take my mind off the pain with a little tv (I can change channels to suit or I can plug in my own sounds – I just have to provide the moves).
So far so impressive. I went on the exercise bike and the rowing machine, all was well. Then it was the treadmill. Oh mighty goldfish bowl! Facing out on the busy main road, I was tempted to wave to the hordes of people that went by. And every single one looked in. Shouldn’t motorists be keeping their eyes on the road? I know it’s not every day you see a beached whale pounding a road to nowhere and the tomato-red moon face must have been glowing like a Belisha beacon but isn’t it a bit rude? People of the Isle of Wight, I am trying to get fit, please avert your gaze.
As I now know how it feels, I will try and do likewise when I am driving past in future.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. countingducks
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 11:21:55

    I’m still smiling at the thought of passing motorists peering into the gym. I suppose the sight of someone suffering for their health is a sight not to be ignored

    Reply

Leave a Reply

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Prattle & Snap

photography, craft, nature

creativity in motion

Blog of Registered Board Certified Art Therapist Gretchen Miller, MA, ATR-BC

quizzabella

Tabby Cats Are The New Black

RJI Photography: Blog

Fleeting impressions seared into my soul...tiny pebbles tossed into the surge

Gypsy Kiltbomb

American by birth, Scottish by injection.

The Clutter Removing Erythrocyte

Organizing & Decluttering tips anyone can do. Free DIY yarn & paper patterns to make personal, custom storage.

ghostmothwords

Short stories by Emma Brown

Inion N. Mathair

TWO VOICES....ONE THOUGHT

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Wuji Seshat

Selected Poems

poetry by skull

The Musings of N. E. Skull

Twinfamy

the epic blog of a father of twins

Pennsylvania Alliance for Clean Water and Air

Dedicated citizens fighting to protect our most valuable resources.

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Being Margaret

A lighthearted look at life on any given day

Clarity

Art is our home. This door is open, always, to all, and yet permits not the entry of draft or rain. The doused may find solace, and repose, in the warmth of this hearth. For the sparks of these words - the spectres conjured by its incandescence - are a family whose love is unconditional, and will ever blaze, kindling within us the faith to weather these tempests. The ashes may then be scattered upon the winds - to ignite the lost, and unify our souls as one, in unquenched illumination; to be the light which guides us home, through the darkest of eclipse.

